jasonseacord 🇵🇸
6 min readJan 19, 2024

--

Hazbin Hotel Episode 1: Charlie Morningstar has a lot going for her so far

SPOILERS for episode one of HAZBIN HOTEL.

Unlike some people, I have not seen the first four episodes of Hazbin Hotel in advance, nor have I seen the general impressions of this show based on that. As such, this post is just my thoughts based on the YouTube premiere of episode one, which I viewed live. I do have an Amazon Prime subscription where the first four episodes are and I will eventually watch and discuss those throughout the week.

First, it is fantastic to see Charlie Morningstar’s new design in motion at long last and hear Alastor refer to her by her full name.

And HOLY CRAP, Keith David is voicing Husk! I am specifically a fan of David for his roles, such as Childs from The Thing and, of course, Goliath from Gargoyles. He is also in Chris Stuckmann’s upcoming film Shelby Oakes, which I am looking forward to watching. From a purely nostalgic point of view, Keith David is probably my favourite actor out of the cast so far, which is why it was really hilarious hearing him as Husk claim he can’t act. The character of Husk feels unique and almost out of pocket compared to David’s past roles, which in my mind are highly dignified, and I’m curious to see how that may be applied to Husk in the future, especially since I know that David is very picky with his roles. Husk was originally voiced by Mick Lauer, who…

--

--