Jujutsu Kaisen 0 Movie Review

jasonseacord 🇵🇸
6 min readApr 5, 2022

Jujutsu Kaisen 0 is a Japanese animated film and is a prequel to the ongoing anime series Jujutsu Kaisen based on the manga of the same name by Gege Akutami. My history with Jujutsu Kaisen is during one of my on-and-off subscriptions to Shounen Jump; I read a couple of its first chapters. I was intrigued by the premise, and I really liked a lot of its monster concepts, but I dropped it when it involved its main character going to magic school, and I found that very Hogwartzy and cliched at the time. It might have also been that generally, with a lot of SJ’s manga, it does take me a while to warm up to their main characters. However, I have been rather keen to check out the anime series at some stage because I have heard that the anime does elevate the manga a lot, and from what I have seen of it, I don’t think those are lies.
I mention all of this history because I want it to be understood what I went into this movie with. Basically, probably no more than five chapters of main story content. Additionally, I should mention some expectations I had based on what I had seen other fans say of this prequel. That it was a movie set in Jujutsu Kaisen’s world, with some secondary characters from the series being the focus here and that this story stood on its own and that it wasn’t just filler. In short that this was a good gateway introduction to Jujutsu Kaisen with not much commitment needing to be attached.
It’s worth…

--

--