My Top 15 Favourite Films of 2022 + more

jasonseacord 🇵🇸
8 min readJan 29, 2023

Time for a post mainly about the films I saw and liked in 2022. I only saw ten films the previous year; I watched a lot more in 2022. Twenty-four films altogether, but I only significantly appreciated about 15 of those. I’ll talk about them each individually roughly in ascending rank but don’t take that too seriously. The last one on the list will be my top favourite of the year.

But first, to start with, I want to mention all the films that were on my radar that I was enthusiastic about watching but didn’t have the time or funds to go see. And they are: Bros, Bodies Bodies Bodies, Moonage Daydream, RRR, The Sea Beast, Wendell and Wild, Blaze, Hatching, Fresh, You Won’t Be Alone, After Yang, Brahmastra, Pearl, Gold, Three Thousand Years of Longing, Barbarian, The Woman King and The Weird Al Yankovic Story.

I’m not counting ones like The Whale and Marcel the Shell with Shoes On because I live in Australia, and those particular ones are getting their release in 2023.

Strange World

Essentially Strange World is a spiritual successor to Disney’s adventure films such as The Rescuers Down Under, Treasure Planet and Atlantis: The Lost Empire. This will probably have a similar cult status to those one day. I loved the world-building for this one, and I appreciated the dynamic of a guy being the…

--

--