Night Raiders

jasonseacord 🇵🇸
3 min readOct 4, 2022

Night Raiders is a dystopian film that follows a Cree woman named Niska and her daughter Waseese after they are separated due to Niska making a difficult choice for her daughter’s health. This film probably isn’t going to get much attention. I knew of it but only decided to watch it once I discovered that Taika Waititi was the executive producer. And when I learned it was actually a dystopian about indigenous people, I prioritised seeing it before watching The Black Phone.
One of the things about dystopian films is that they tend not to show how the circumstances of society collapsing affect other groups of people. And so, when dystopian fiction focuses on the same group of people repeatedly, the genre starts to feel stale. And don’t get me wrong; there are some dystopian works where the cast is diverse. For example, the zombie apocalypse show The Walking Dead and the disaster genre anime Japan Sinks 2020. And I also like Children of Men, I Am Legend (with the alternate ending), The Road and The Handmaid’s Tale. But even so, all of these tend to fall short because not everyone gets accounted for. And whenever I watch this particular genre of film/television, I usually find myself wondering how this affects indigenous and queer people.
Anyways, in this regard, I did find that Night Raiders was a step in this direction.
So before I went to see the film, I got a peek at some reviews. According to Rotten Tomatoes, it appeared that critics…

--

--